How to Know If Someone Has Blocked You On Instagram?
Whenever someone blocks your profile on a social networking platform, you don’t receive any notification. It is probably for the better since nobody will probably enjoy reading a notification which reads “You were blocked by XYZ”. However, whether it’s because of a comment you posted on someone’s profile or fought with your girlfriend/boyfriend (among other reasons), you might end up being blocked on Instagram. You might start noticing it when stories and posts from that profile don’t appear on your Instagram feed anymore. A lot of times, this could also be caused if the person deactivates their account or stops posting on Instagram. So how do you find out if you have been blocked for real? In this post, we are going to help you find out just that. After you are finished with this post, you will definitely be able to know if someone has blocked you on Instagram. We won’t be suggesting the usage of any third party apps for this purpose and only stick to the methods which need an Instagram profile and functioning fingers. It will definitely be simpler than watching a blocked YouTube video or blocking a Youtube channel.
How to Know If Someone Has Blocked You on Instagram
Search for the profile
This is the most straightforward method to find out if someone has blocked you on Instagram. Just go to the search bar and search for the name of the person who you suspect for blocking you.
There are three possible cases here:
- If you see the profile and the posts, then you aren’t blocked in case of public profiles. If the account is private, you will encounter the message ‘This Account is Private’. This means that you haven’t been blocked.
- If you see the profile and the post count, but the area displaying the posts shows No posts message, then you have been blocked.
- If the profile doesn’t appear in search at all, then either the person has deactivated their profile, or they have blocked you. In this scenario, we need to try some other methods.
Check the profile
Even if someone blocks you, their old tags and comments won’t be removed from your profile. If you can’t access the profile by searching for it, you should try clicking on the profile name on the old comments and tags. If that profile shows a count of the posts without showing the posts or the “profile is private” message, then you have been blocked.
Try the Instagram username
If you want, you can access any Instagram profile via a web browser. You just need to type instagram.com/username. Type the username and see if you can view the profile. In case you can view the profile, log in from your account and try to see the profile again. If you get the message ‘Sorry, this page isn’t available’, then you have been blocked.
Check if the messages are there
Whenever someone is blocked on Instagram, the chat thread between the blocked profile and the blocker disappears. In case your chats don’t feature any DMs from that profile, you have most probably been blocked. This can also be caused by profile deactivation. To verify that, go to any common message groups and look for the suspected blocker’s profile. If that profile is active on that group, you have been blocked.
Try to re-follow
If you can view the suspected blocker’s profile somehow, try following them by tapping on the Follow button. If you are blocked, you won’t be able to follow the person. Tapping the Follow button will do nothing, and you will see the same button again. Instagram won’t notify them about it.
Check using your other/someone else’s profile
If nothing else works out, try checking for that person using your second profile (if you have one) or try searching through your friend’s profile. If you are able to see the suspected blocker’s profile, then your suspicion has been confirmed, you have been blocked.
Hopefully, this post has helped you learn the answer to “how to know if someone has blocked you on Instagram”. Hopefully, you don’t get blocked by anyone, but if you do suspect someone for blocking you, you know what to do to find out the truth.